Starting Over: Nursing as a Second Career (Part II)

There’s nothing more frustrating than being completely clueless about where your niche in life should be. Where do you belong? What exactly is your purpose?

That was me three years ago when I was constantly reaching out to hit the panic button. I had attended and dropped out of two expensive colleges, and quit my full time job as a digital marketing assistant with hopes of creating a brand for myself as a social media marketer for small businesses. It wasn’t long until I realized I was barely keeping my head above water in an over saturated market full of twenty-something year old’s looking to do the same thing.

At the time, becoming a nurse was not even close to being on my radar. I shuddered at the thought of going back to school only to accrue more student loans, but after months of getting rejected by potential employers, I was getting desperate. Car payments and student loans were not going to pay themselves after all. The only shred of solace I took was being able to do some part-time work from home with Lucky, my favorite Yorkshire Terrier.


Nearly a year later, the idea of going to nursing school flickered back and forth after I was introduced to a couple both with masters in nursing. They were beyond content with their careers and spoke of the vast opportunities in nursing which further fueled my mind with dreams of becoming a nurse. After three years of sitting behind a computer in the corporate setting, I leapt at the chance to work on my feet. The real kicker was when I realized I’d be part of a workforce that’s always in need, and of course, get to help people feel better!

As mentioned in my previous post, starting over is no peaceful stroll in the park. From the 32 hours of prerequisite classes required to get into nursing school, the dreaded TEAS test that still gives me the sweats, to passing my first year of nursing school by the hair on my chinny chin chin, I am ceaselessly bracing myself for the next obstacle. In essence, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the whole (sometimes painful) process because every hurdle I overcome is another step towards my goal of becoming a Registered Nurse that can make a difference, no matter how small that may be.

So although I’ve narrowed down the search for my niche in the vast field of nursing and now into the eye-opening field of nursing research, I have many miles and moons to go in search of my purpose in life — and that’s ok! So long as I keep the right foot forward and keep starting over each and every day.

Sophia, soon-to-be-RN


(Up next: An update in my journey towards becoming a nurse researcher at Emory University.)


Leave a Reply

